Archive for the ‘Spam Warnings’ Category.
November 23, 2009, 9:44 am
This is a Loyds TSB spam email, the first giveaway should be the big list of other people that have recieved the email. This would never happen from a bank as it would be against the data protection act. Now I’ve had to blur out the list of people, but you can see there are about 25 email addresses there.
The next thing again is that when you rollover the ‘Personal Log on’ button you will see that the actual domain address is wrong the first part starts off like it’s ok ‘http://online.lloydstsb.co.uk’ but it doesn’t actually end there it continues with ‘.623hneczc1.com’ Which unless the is a / means that until the last fullstop and one of the usual .com, .net .co.uk or many other ones the domain isn’t finished, therfore it’s not likely that Lloyds would ever have .623hneczc1.com at the end.
As always the best peice of advice I can give is to login manually to your banks online account, so never click on the link in the email.

Stay Safe
Alan
November 17, 2009, 11:22 pm
Ok so this one is for Abbey customers. Like the others this is a simple one to spot, First they use the typical default introduction ‘Dear Valued Customer’ any back emailing you would use your name or a reference number that you can easily check with.
Second if you hover over the link you will very quickly see that the beginning of the link doesn’t even correspond with abbeys own web address ‘http://www.dailyzohar.com’ They do however in the next bit have the abbey address in there, to hopefully fool you, but it’s the first part that is important. Just think of a house address you can’t put 123 my street, Glasgow, then have 456 the fake street, Glasgow and expect the mail company to send it to the second part of the address and not the first, it just wouldn’t happen.
Finally the content is telling you there has been a mismatch of your details, if you haven’t accessed the account in the last few days then it’s very unlikely it’s you and anyway the golden rule of any email telling you there is a problem with your online account is to log into the account manually like you normally would and it will either prove you still get access because you’ve just logged in or the system will tell you there is a problem and that you need to call a specific telephone number.

Stay Safe
Alan
November 5, 2009, 9:28 am
Here is a spam email that is targeting Face book users.
First off the email doesn’t have your own username, that’s the first giveaway. Seconed if you hover over the click here link or the update button you’ll see that the link doens’t actually take you to the real Facebook site it takes you to http://www.facebook.com.pppioy.eu as you can see after the .com part it then has .pppioy.eu which means this is a totally different domain.
then the rest of the link doesn’t really matter /globaldirectory/LoginFacebook.php?ref=4521373272535100962456233177540855416175899293149836

Stay Safe
Alan