November 23, 2009, 9:44 am
This is a Loyds TSB spam email, the first giveaway should be the big list of other people that have recieved the email. This would never happen from a bank as it would be against the data protection act. Now I’ve had to blur out the list of people, but you can see there are about 25 email addresses there.
The next thing again is that when you rollover the ‘Personal Log on’ button you will see that the actual domain address is wrong the first part starts off like it’s ok ‘http://online.lloydstsb.co.uk’ but it doesn’t actually end there it continues with ‘.623hneczc1.com’ Which unless the is a / means that until the last fullstop and one of the usual .com, .net .co.uk or many other ones the domain isn’t finished, therfore it’s not likely that Lloyds would ever have .623hneczc1.com at the end.
As always the best peice of advice I can give is to login manually to your banks online account, so never click on the link in the email.

Stay Safe
Alan
November 17, 2009, 11:22 pm
Ok so this one is for Abbey customers. Like the others this is a simple one to spot, First they use the typical default introduction ‘Dear Valued Customer’ any back emailing you would use your name or a reference number that you can easily check with.
Second if you hover over the link you will very quickly see that the beginning of the link doesn’t even correspond with abbeys own web address ‘http://www.dailyzohar.com’ They do however in the next bit have the abbey address in there, to hopefully fool you, but it’s the first part that is important. Just think of a house address you can’t put 123 my street, Glasgow, then have 456 the fake street, Glasgow and expect the mail company to send it to the second part of the address and not the first, it just wouldn’t happen.
Finally the content is telling you there has been a mismatch of your details, if you haven’t accessed the account in the last few days then it’s very unlikely it’s you and anyway the golden rule of any email telling you there is a problem with your online account is to log into the account manually like you normally would and it will either prove you still get access because you’ve just logged in or the system will tell you there is a problem and that you need to call a specific telephone number.

Stay Safe
Alan
October 26, 2009, 9:36 am
Todays spam email is about Western Union.
This one comes with an attachment called ‘MTSN_87743484.zip’ the content is very plausable, but you should ask the obvious question who is sending you that money. Generally you will know to be expecting it and if you are already expecting money then the totals should be completely different.
Also note that a typical sign of a spam email is the generic ‘Dear Customer’ if they have you’re email address and it involves money the chances are they have your actual name or at the very least a reference number you can check somewhere else.
I’m not familiar with Western Unions methods of transferring money, so I’m not sure how they alert you to the fact that there is money to be collected or if that’s even possible. Maybe the money gets wired direct to an account and the only notification is the person sending you the money telling you or you checking you’re bank statement.
Either way I wouldn’t trust anything that seems to good to be true like this and there are many examples out there.
————————————–
Dear customer.
The amount of money transfer: 1037 USD.
Money is available to withdrawl.
You may find the Money Transfer Control Number (MTCN) and receiver’s details in document attached to this email.
Western Union.
Customer Service.